Brainstorm 2019: UPCM Nabs Championship

by Mark Teo (2023)

Photos provided by the Mu Sigma Phi Fraternity and Sorority

UP College of Medicine (UPCM) students emerged as champions in the inter-medical school quiz bee Brainstorm, held on the 29th of March in the PGH Social Hall.

As Mu Sigma Phi Fraternity and Sorority’s flagship event for their annual Scholarship Month for the past 28 years, Brainstorm aims to highlight the continued commitment of the fraternity and sorority to the promotion of exemplary scholastic performance and dedication to learning.

As a friendly but challenging competition  among medical schools, 10 schools — the Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health, Emilio Aguinaldo College – School of Medicine, De La Salle Health Sciences Institute College of Medicine, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila College of Medicine, University of the East Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center, Inc., University of Perpetual Help Rizal Jonelta Foundation School of Medicine, University of the Philippines College of Medicine, University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, San Beda University College of Medicine, and St. Luke’s College of Medicine William H. Quasha Memorial — participated with two teams of 3 students each, for a total of 20 teams competing for the championship.

The event was hosted by Marcel Magno (ΜΣΦ ‘22) and Faith Baccay (μΣΦ ‘22). After the flag ceremony and invocation, opening speaker Dr. Carlo Catabijan (ΜΣΦ ‘86) shared the backstory of Brainstorm, mentioning that, more than a quiz bee, it was where people can see “the very essence of teamwork.”.

Soon after, the six judges for Brainstorm were introduced – Dr. Patrick Joseph Matias (ΜΣΦ ‘08), Dr. Sherri Ann Suplido, (μΣΦ ‘02), Dr. Albert Tiotuyco (ΜΣΦ ‘87), Dr. Blesile Suzette Mantaring (μΣΦ ‘84A), Dr. Jose Leonard Pascual, and Dr. Jacinto Blas Mantaring (ΜΣΦ ‘84).

After a quick introduction of the participating medical schools, game masters Remo Abella (ΜΣΦ ‘22) and Angel Bless Sinad (μΣΦ ‘22) took the stage to state the mechanics of Brainstorm 2019 and to kick off the elimination round.

From the elimination round, 5 teams qualified for the final round, and then the top 3 ranking schools were awarded. UERM Team A, consisting of  Darwin Espiritu, Jian Que, and Jan Mark Roxas garnered 2nd runner-up, while UERM Team B, whose members are David Bildan, Gamaliel Galigao, and Alyssa Marcelo nabbed 1st runner-up. Brainstorm 2019’s champions was UPCM Team A, whose members were Allan John Barcena, Hannah Lois Co, and Linnaeus Louisse Cruz.

The Mu Sigma Phi sorority’s Most Exalted Sister Maxine Sta. Maria (μΣΦ ‘19) delivered the closing remarks. Afterwards, Dr. Jacinto Mantaring, along with Mu Sigma Phi Scholarship Heads Earl Balanag (ΜΣΦ ‘21) and Marywin Carabbacan (μΣΦ ‘21) handed certificates to the participants and winners of the quiz bee.

ANSWERS UP: Participants discover whether their answers was correct or incorrect in Brainstorm’s elimination round.

“Now on Brainstorm’s 28th year, we have continued to strive for the advancement of camaraderie and critical thinking in our profession as exemplified by many of the teams during the quiz show,” says Brainstorm 2019 Head Darwin del Rosario (ΜΣΦ ‘22). “More than the facts and technicalities prevailing in the medical field, Brainstorm 2019 encouraged its participants to think beyond medical textbooks and promote collaboration among colleagues across different medical institutions.”

“Thank you to all the participants, judges, and sponsors who helped make this event a huge success,” says Brainstorm 2019 Head Kristel Limjuco (μΣΦ ‘22). “Without them, Brainstorm wouldn’t be running for 28 years in a row. It was truly inspiring to see medical students from different schools coming together in one place, battling it out in friendly competition. We hope that everyone enjoyed and had a high-yield experience!”

Leave a Reply