Volleyball and Futsal Teams Start Bakbakan Strong

By Roy Gerona (Class 2022) and Rory Nakpil (Class 2022)

The College of Medicine Volleyball and Futsal teams emerged victorious from their first Bakbakan games of the year. The games began with a volleyball match against the College of Allied Medical Professions (CAMP), of which CM won in straight sets with the scores 25-13 and 25-22, respectively. Led by team captain JP Ladera (Class 2020), the CM Volleyball Team showcased their dominance from the get-go, jumping to an early 11-3 lead. Former Lady Maroon Kathy Bersola showed her UAAP experience by scoring two straight aces to bring the lead up 17-9, as the team pulled away to finish the first set. Player of the game Henzor Dauigoy (Class 2021) scored a total of 7 points, and showed composure as the team rallied to fend off CAMP’s second set run to put a nail in the coffin.

CM Volleyball Team starting the year strong (Back row, from left: Gayle Krystle Grey, Vib Bernal, Pibelle de Chavez, Rapsy Fudolig, Dudi de Juras, Jeram Angobung, Benjo Sosa, Kathy Bersola, Sean Cua, Kirby Plando, Henzor Dauigoy – Player of the Game; Front row, from left: Vinz Solanoy, Bea Cawaing, Reni de Guzman, JP Ladera -Team Captain, Cai Tuppil, Zora dela Peña, Jayme Tambaoan

Photo by Markyn Kho

Right after their victory in volleyball, CM won by a landslide in a futsal match against the College of Nursing (CN) with a final score of 15-0. Macky Camagay (Class 2020) and Julian Buban (Class 2021) set the tone by scoring goals one after the other in first minute of the game, and the rest of their teammates just kept adding on to the score from there. Led by team captain Leland Lukban (Class 2018), the CM Futsal Team tore through CN’s defenses over and over again with their smooth plays and strong, but technical offense. Notable was the debut performance of rookie Javi Torres (Class 2022), who made three goals (two of them consecutively), and was named one of the three Players of the Game alongside reliable veterans Gian Urgel (Class 2020) and Julian Buban (Class 2021).

Class 2022’s Jonathan Chan gearing up for powerful kick

Photo by JC Tesorero (Class 2022)

CM Futsal Team after their landslide victory (Back row, from left: Aljohn Gonzales, Carl Uy, Jon Tiosin, Alec Bukuhan, Nathan Gan, JR Sta. Maria, Miguel Dimacali, Jonathan Chan, Julian Buban – Player of the Game, Leandro Milla, Macky Camagay, Anna Serrano, EJ Remoreras; Front row, from left: Javi Torres – Player of the Game, Kino Baltazar, Jaz Togonon, Gian Urgel – Player of the Game, GV Vistal, Leland Lukban – Team Captain, Bea Constantino)

Photo by Rory Nakpil (Class 2022)

Leave a Reply